How do I change the terminal type for /dev/console?

Change the "-T sun" in the following line in /etc/inittab to
"-T <termtype>":

co:234:respawn:/usr/lib/saf/ttymon -g -h \
-p "`uname -n` console login: " -T sun \
-d /dev/console -l console -m ldterm,ttcompat

(Line broken for readability)

In Solaris 10 and later this is done using (changing the tty
to xterm in this example):

svccfg -s system/console-login setprop ttymon/terminal_type = xterm

[an error occurred while processing this directive]